Views of a Veteran

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New Year

Well it is officially 2008 and I can not believe how 2007 flew by so fast. Sine my last post I found out I was going to be re-activated soon. So now I am doing the Army waiting game. A lot of people have been asking me if I am afraid to go, and I keep telling them no, since this will be my second time going, I know what to expect and that makes it easier. Now my family on the other hand don’t think so, but that is to be expected.

I learned last night the Vets for Freedom will be converging onto Capitol Hill once again in March for another Vets on the Hill. We will be on the hill in support of General Petraeus coming back to testify in front of Congress about the state of the “surge”. Which for most people do not realize, but the surge is working and we need to allow the troops more time to finish the job! This is not the time to pull the troops out and admit defeat when we are winning!

We did a Vets on the Hill back in September of 07 were we had over 25 states represented and over 250 members there to show our support for the President, General Petraeus, and the troops in Iraq and Afghanistan. I you have not heard of Vets for Freedom, please visit the website at http://www.vetsforfreedom.org/ If you believe in the mission in in Iraq and Afghanistan then this is the group for you. I am currently the State Captain for Arkansas, and we are always looking for fellow vets from Iraq and Afghanistan to join our cause and to support our brother’s and sister’s in arms! The easiest way to join is to visit the web page above fill out your information and the state captain for you state will get in contact with at some point. A lot of the states have individual state chapter sites on the main page so try to check them out as well.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. See you there my friend if still around, absolutely looking forward to it! The David Bellavia victory tour wraps up then too, so we’ll have to carry him through the streets in a ricksaw.

    Comment by Thus Spake Ortner | January 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a good idea to me! Hope to see you there as well

    Comment by Jacob | January 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

