Views of a Veteran

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Vets on the Hill

Well with a week left before the Vets on the Hill event, I have started to prepare myself for what may or may not come. the biggest thing that may or may not come are the protests. The last time I was in DC for the first Vets on the Hill, our rally was protested by everybody and their grandma’s. It was during our rally that a Blue Star Mom was assaulted, and would lead to my trip to DC in Feb. to testify against the guy (he was found guilty!!)

Hopefully this time around that will not happen. But with the moonbats out and about, and it being just a few weeks after the 5 year anniversary, I would not be surprised if there are out in force!

With a week left to go, it has me wondering and pondering what the future holds. With the election not so far in the future, it has me wondering what will happen to this great country?

i had dinner this weekend with my wife’s boss, her soon to be husband, and a couple that my wife and her boss knew. While we were eating the topic of my being in the Army and me having the possibility to go back to Iraq came up. I tried not to get to political, because a. my wife threatened me if I did, and B. I did not know what the 3rd couple believed in. One of the questions that came up was about the “intense mortar attacks in the Green Zone”. They wanted to know if I knew anything about this. That questions opened a door that I was able to bring the entire Army thru. i was able to inform them that attacks like those go on all the time. Granted the number of attacks have sub-dued, it still happens. in fact I told them that while I was in country if I had a dollar for every rocket and mortar that was shot at my base, i would not have to be working right now! now don’t get me wrong, since the surge started and the year that has passed these kinds of attacks are becoming rare, what the issue at hand is the MSM (main stream media), are only reporting the bad things when they happen. I explained to this nice couple that not everything you hear on TV or read in the newspapers is true. That if you want to know what is really going on then ask someone ho has been there, seen what is going on, and had first hand knowledge of the events. Hopefully this one conversation has cleared some of the confusion for them and will lead them to get the real news from better sources. Now what does this have to do with Vets on the Hill, well not a whole lot, but it gets me into the correct mid frame I need to be in when I sit down with my Congressmen and Senators next week and discuss these issues.

So many things have happened since Sept. I have to hope that i can remember them all, to talk about. Things from the surge, working, to the moonbats going nuts in Berkley, and even to some of the crazy events in the elections so far! Granted this will be a huge challenge, but I believe that as the State Captain for Vets for Freedom here in Arkansas, and as an Army engineer for over 11 years, I can handle this challenge and I look forward to taking it on head first. Just like the Engineer creed: Can do! Will do!!

I look forward to talking about the trip when I get back, and I look forward to meeting new folks, and visiting with friends made on the last trip!

March 31, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

