Views of a Veteran

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What to do?


Well I have been at my new job for 7 days now and have hated every second of it. Oh where to start?? Well I guess at the beginning will do:

Monday 5/5: No computer setup, no office/desk set up, the only job given to me is something I have no experience in, CAD standards are not given to me(b/c they have non!), get computer only to realize I have stepped out of the Jetsons Tech world of computers at my last job and stepped into the Flintstones Tech world, have a shitty CRT monitor, a keyboard that half the keys mess up including the space bar, sit on my ass doing nothing for 8 hours, boss checks in with my at 455 pm5 minutes before it is time to go home.

Tuesday 5/6: Repeat sitting on my ass doing nothing, boss never checks in on me, 3 people talk to me the entire day.

Wednesday 5/7: Repeat of Tuesday the only difference no one says a word to me the entire day, its like I am not even here, play on the internet and look for new job, had an interview with a better company at lunch.

Thursday 5/8: Repeat of Wed., except at 1145amboss comes to see me and see where I am at the project he gave me Monday, I show him what I have done, he decides to go a different route with that project, gives me something new to do, oh look its bitch work to do for the rest of the day and for Friday.

Friday 5/9: Same as the rest of the week, do the bitch work in the morning, take 2 hours, stop bitch work after 2 hours so I have something to do at the end of the day, after lunch take 1 1/2 to finish bitch work, sit on ass the rest of the day, no one talks to me again for a second day.

Weekend: Awesome surprised my wifes mom for mother’s day by going over to her parents house for the weekend, caught up on sleep.

Monday 5/12: Ask for work,get bitch work that I finish in 45 minutes, sit around waiting for new work,get new project to do at 4pm involves grading a water treatment site-have not graded in CAD with out the special tools that me last company had, informed my boss this his actual words: ” you will be fine, you can figure it out, get it done”, put the project aside till Tuesday play on internet. Leave work decided to take a different route home- don’t see that stop sign at the railroad crossing but the police see me, get ticket, almost home wife calls says that my previous employer canceled her and my daughters health insurance on the 14th of April (the day I was laid off) and not on the 30th like is was suppose to be so now we have big doctor bills from my wife’s doctor visit on the 20th, whats next??

Tuesday 5/13 10:48am: Called the city about ticket: $140, called former employer about insurance said its their fault will fix it, might take a week, called retention NCO about my re-enlistment paper work she tells me she will call me right back, that was 2 1/2 hours ago, still haven’t started that project not sure how to do it, boss has checked on me twice to see my progress-oops there isn’t any, ready to pull the trigger and quit,Update 1055am: Retention NCO called tying to get my bonus control number now! Update 1348: Got a call from a local police department have a test set up for the 27th, hopefully I do good and it pans out for me!

Man I hate this job, it has been one shitty month, hopefully it will get better soon!!!

May 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Man! Where do you work?

    Comment by SIREN | May 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. I work for a shitty civil engineering firm in Springdale, Arkansas. You would think this company has been around since 1971 that they know how to adapt and survive, but from what I can tell they are doing that with luck! Hopefully a better job comes sooner then later!!

    Comment by Jacob | May 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. There’s nothing more miserable than a job you hate.

    Comment by S. Weasel | May 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

