Views of a Veteran

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What to do?…part 2

Well it has been a couple of weeks since I posted about my shitty job and a few good things have happened. First I got my daughter for the summer so thats the biggest thing! I am so excited to have her here. Especially since at the end of last year I thought I would be in Iraq by now,which may still happen and when it does I will take it like a grain of salt, do my mission and get home.

On the job front, I recently took a test with a local police department this past Tuesday, got a call from the on the same day saying I passed and they want me to come in for an interview next Monday. So I am very excited about this. Some people have been asking me why I want to become a cop, and the best way I can explain it to them is this way. I consider being a cop as an extension of being in the Army the only difference is I won’t b serving the whole country by a community, and hopefully do some good to that community. So hopefully the interview will go well, and I get to move on in the process of getting the job.

The next big thing is,this past Sat. I reenlisted in the Army Reserves for another 6 years. Of course with this came a big bonus, but it isn’t always about the money. I have been in for over 11 years now, and the Army has been a part of my life so much that when I looked at the possibility of getting out and not having it there scared me. It’s like having your arm removed for no good reason. Now if you are my mom or sister the good reason would be not to go to Iraq, but that is something that I have come to terms with a longtime ago. I knew the moment I signed my name and took the oath 11 years ago that at some point I may or may not have to go to war. Anyone who has joined and says differently is an idiot and needs to be bitched slapped! I also knew at the age of 8 that i would be in the military until I could retire from it. So with 11 years down it made only sense to keep going towards the 20. But now I am faced with a HUGE problem, how do I tell my mom and sister with out them beating the shit out of me? Me telling my dad will be no big deal, he is very supportive of my service and telling him that I decided to continue on verses getting out, he will understand, but my mom and sister are totally different. Hell in 2003, before I went over the first time my mom was trying to run me over with the car so I couldn’t go, (not really but she suggested it a few times!). Hopefully they will understand it at some point, especially when they realize that my wife supports me 150% and that I think if my daughter was a few years older should would understand and be behind me as well.

May 29, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

